Can you appeal a debt Judgement?
If you have a judgment against you, the only option available through the courts to change that decision is to appeal it. That means you lodge an appeal with a higher court for that decision to be reviewed.
What if defendant does not show up in small claims court?
If the Plaintiff does not show up for the trial and the Defendant does appear, if the Defendant asks, the Court may dismiss the case without prejudice. If the Plaintiff does refile the case and again fails to appear at trial, the Small Claims Rules say the Court may dismiss with case with prejudice.
How long do you have to sue someone in California?
Statutes of Limitation For example, in California, you have four years to make a claim on a written contract, and three years to file for property damage. The statute of limitations on oral contracts and personal injury is a little shorter. If you don’t sue within two years, you can’t.
Can you sue for pain and suffering in small claims court California?
You can ask for damages for emotional pain and suffering but you must prove the damage. Your total award must still be $10,000 or less. If your counterclaim is for more than $10,000, you can still file in small claims court, but you will “waive” (give up) any amount above $10,000.