How long do you have to be married to get alimony in California?

How long do you have to be married to get alimony in California?

Under California Law, the general presumption for duration of support is “one-half the length of the marriage,” for marriages of fewer than 10 years. This means that if you were married for six years, the judge has the right to limit alimony for one-half of the marriage if the need exists (three years).

Under California Law, the general presumption for duration of support is \u201cone-half the length of the marriage,\u201d for marriages of fewer than 10 years. This means that if you were married for six years, the judge has the right to limit alimony for one-half of the marriage if the need exists (three years).

Is alimony automatic in California?

filing for divorce online

Alimony Is Automatic Instead, alimony is something one spouse must request during the complex divorce process. California law does not automatically obligate one spouse to start making payments to the other after a divorce. Alimony is not a “one-size-fits-all” court order with automatic payment amounts.