How do I know when my divorce is final in California?
The divorce is not final until the clerk enters the judgment into the court record. Upon entering judgement, the clerk will date stamp the documents and provide each party with a copy of the order. This order will state the termination date of the marriage. Oftentimes this termination date is in the future!
How long do court reporters keep transcripts?
How long should a court reporter keep notes? Answer: Pursuant to 69955(e) In Court: 10 years; Death penalty case: forever. Depos: 1 year if transcribed and 8 years if not transcribed.
What are court transcripts called?
A court reporter or court stenographer, formerly referred to as a stenotype operator, shorthand reporter, or law reporter, is a person whose occupation is to capture the live testimony in proceedings using [voice writing] and/or stenographic machine and transforming same into an official certified transcript by nature …
Are deposition transcripts confidential?
A deposition transcript is not usually filed as part of the public record. In addition, a protective order can be issued by a court for any exhibits or transcripts to stay confidential. While this is generally how most cases play out, there are still some reasons why a deposition transcript might be made public record.
Can you record your own deposition?
The answer is yes. You can record your own deposition video as a lawyer. However, you will need to be familiar with the equipment that you’ll need to use, the rules and regulations governing deposition videos, and have basic video editing skills so that you can produce the finished product.
How much does a video deposition cost?
Deposition Video Flat Rate An average for flat rate can range anywhere from $200-$400. Many deposition services will usually charge a flat rate. This rate would include the travel time, set-up, and recording at least the first hour of the deposition.
What is a certified copy of a deposition transcript?
Certified Transcript This is your regular, full-sized transcript, signed by the court reporter, which is acceptable for filing with the court if the original is not available. Normal delivery time is two weeks, but it can be expedited if you need it sooner.
How many depositions are allowed in California?
Each party may conduct one deposition of each other party. This limit is imposed to prevent parties from using the deposition process as a tool of harassment, and to make each party effectively use their deposition. Parties may also conduct depositions of any relevant witnesses in the case.
What is certificate of deposition?
A Certificate of Disposition is an official court document affixed with the Court Seal that says what happened in a criminal case. It says the crime you were charged with, what you were convicted of, the date you were convicted and the sentence you got.