How do I file a small claim in Arapahoe County?

How do I file a small claim in Arapahoe County?

Determine whether your case qualifies as a small claim. Small claims involve $7,500 or less (not including interest or costs) Identify which county court should hear your case. Follow these basic steps to open your case. Prepare for mediation (if applicable). Prepare for a trial in front of the judge.

How do I file a small claims suit in Colorado?

If you are bringing a claim, you will need a form called a “Notice, Claim and Summons to Appear for Trial” (called a Complaint), JDF 250. You can get this form from the courthouse, or visit the Judicial Branch website at (click on Forms then Small Claims to find and download the form).

How do I file a civil lawsuit in Colorado?

To file a lawsuit in Colorado, you need to find the appropriate court and then complete a complaint form….Understand the Colorado court system.Small claims. You can file in small claims court if your case is worth $7,500 or less. County court. District court. Federal courts.

What is the limit for small claims court in Colorado?


How do I file a complaint against a business in Colorado?

You can call the office at (303) 866-4500.

What is the Colorado Consumer Protection Act?

The Colorado Consumer Protection Act is a statutory scheme adopted by the Colorado legislature intended to deter and punish businesses that engage in unfair or deceptive trade practices with the public.

Does Colorado have a buyers remorse law?

There are exceptions to the general rule that allow a consumer to rescind a transaction, generally referred to as Colorado’s buyers’ remorse laws. Rather than a broad law, Colorado law provides for 1, 3, 5 or 30 day rescission periods based on specific subject matter of the contract.

Is there a lemon law for used cars in Colorado?

There is no specific Colorado used car lemon law, as the state’s existing lemon law covers used vehicles. Colorado’s lemon law and the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act both let consumers recover their attorneys’ fees after prevailing in court.

How many days do you have to return a used car in Colorado?

Average Return Period After a Used Car Purchase Still, some dealers offer this privilege as an additional benefit. At Phil Long Dealerships, you will find an average used car return period of 3-days or 150 miles (whichever comes first).

Can I sue a car dealership for selling me a bad used car?

You can sue a dealership for selling you a bad car if they did not properly disclose any known issues with the vehicle. Often times, the only way to get the dealer to repair the vehicle or arrange for the car to be returned for a full refund is by having an auto fraud attorney sue the dealership.