How long do protection orders last in Colorado?
How long does a restraining order last in Colorado? A temporary protective order generally lasts for up to 14 days, until the court holds a hearing on making the protective order permanent. However, a temporary protection order can be continued for up to one year, upon a finding of good cause by the judge.
What is a protection order in Colorado?
A restraining order, also known as a \u201ccivil protection order\u201d is a court order which protects one party by prohibiting another from certain conduct, communications, or to stay a certain distance away from the protected person’s home, school or workplace. Violation of the protection order is a criminal offense.
What happens if you violate a protection order Colorado?
CRS 18-6-803.5 is the Colorado law making it a misdemeanor to knowingly violate a protective order for domestic violence. Penalties range from 3 to 24 months in jail and/or fines of $250 to $5,000, depending on the protection order.
What happens if I violate a protection order?
If there is a Personal Protection Order (PPO) against you, it is important to obey it. If you do not obey the PPO, you could face jail time, a fine, or both. The judge can also consider a PPO violation in a divorce or child custody case.
How much does a restraining order cost in Colorado?
A filing fee of $ 85.00 is required except when the Person seeking a protection order is a victim of domestic abuse, stalking, sexual assault or unlawful sexual contact. If you cannot afford the filing fee, you may fill out a motion to file without payment. If approved, your filing fee will be waived.
How long does a no contact order stay in effect?
A no-contact condition usually remains in place until the accused is sentenced or found not guilty at trial.