At what age can a child refuse to see a parent in Ohio?

At what age can a child refuse to see a parent in Ohio?

18In the majority of states including Ohio teens under the age of 18 cannot legally make the decision themselves whether or not to see their parents. The only way to change this situation is for the custodial parent to go to court and try to get a modification of the custody agreement.

Can a 16 year old decide which parent to live with in Ohio?

Under current Ohio law, minor children cannot choose where they will live once their parents get divorced. But, this does not mean that a child's wishes are irrelevant. In fact, the current Ohio child custody statute specifically calls for consideration of the child's wishes under appropriate circumstances.

Can a 14 year old divorce a parent?

While no law permits the child to choose their custody status, most California courts believe 14 years of age is old enough to express themselves and the reasons why they prefer one parent over the other. Even after custody is decided, there are times when cases must be revisited.

At what age can a child divorce a parent?

18Age of Emancipation The legal age of majority is typically 18, or when the child graduates from high school, whichever occurs later. In the case of a child divorcing his parents, the child is seeking to speed up the process of emancipation by severing all ties to his parents prior to reaching the age of majority.