How is property divided in a divorce in Utah?

How is property divided in a divorce in Utah?

There are three basic rules that will help you understand how your assets will be split in a divorce: (1) Utah courts will divide assets equitably (fairly) between spouses; (2) all marital property will be divided between the two spouses; and (3) separate property will not be divided between the two spouses.

What states are community property?

The states having community property are Louisiana, Arizona, California, Texas, Washington, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, and Wisconsin. Community property states follow the rule that all assets acquired during the marriage are considered "community property."

Is Utah a common law state?

Required Conditions. Many people want to get a "common law marriage." Utah does not have common law marriage; instead, you may petition the court to recognize your relationship as a marriage even though you never had a marriage ceremony. present themselves to the public so that other people believe they are married.