How long does an uncontested divorce take in Virginia?

How long does an uncontested divorce take in Virginia?

In Virginia, you have to be separated for one year to get a divorce on no fault grounds. There's only one exception: if (1) you do not have minor children, and (2) you already have a signed separation agreement, you can get divorced after six months. Probably most people resolve uncontested divorces at around a year.

How long does it take to divorce in Virginia?

30 to 90 daysHow long does a divorce take in Virginia? Once the divorce paperwork has been filed in court, it usually takes 30 to 90 days for a divorce to be final. The start to finish time of the divorce may vary depending on the caseload of the court and the availability of judges to sign the final Decree of Divorce.

How can I get a quick divorce in Virginia?

Unfortunately, in Virginia, there is no 'quick' way to divorce. State laws dictate you must be legally separated from your spouse for at least 1 year before you can begin divorce proceedings. However, if you are filing a fault-based claim, you may be able to file for divorce before the allotted separation time expires.

How much does an uncontested divorce cost in Virginia?

As to the attorney fees, an uncontested divorce is absolutely the least expensive way to get legally parted from your wife, but fees can vary significantly. On average, says, a Virginia divorce costs $14,500, but that is for both contested and uncontested divorces.