What age does back child support stop?

What age does back child support stop?

18 years oldEnding Child Support Usually, court-ordered child support ends when the child turns 18 years old if he or she graduates from high school. If your 18-year-old child is still a full-time high school student and still lives with a parent, child support ends when your child graduates or turns 19, whichever occurs first.

Does child support stop if child goes into military?

In most states, once the child turns 18, both parents are relieved of the obligation to pay child support. In most states, if your child joins the military as active duty, the court will consider your child to be emancipated.

Do you still have to pay child support if child goes to college?

Under California law, the obligation to pay child support ends at age 18 (or 19 if the child is still in high school). As a result, in the vast majority of cases, child support will not cover tuition, room and board, and other college-related expenses.

Does child support stop at death?

Child support payments in California will continue after the death of the paying parent. Several family law cases in California regarding such an event have held that the paying spouse's estate will take on the responsibility of paying out a child support agreement after the decedent's death.