What are same sex unions?

What are same sex unions?

A civil union (also known as a civil partnership) is a legally recognized arrangement similar to marriage, created primarily as a means to provide recognition in law for same-sex couples. Civil unions grant most or all of the rights of marriage except the title itself.

Does Ohio recognize same sex marriage for tax purposes?

Under Article XV §11 of the Ohio Constitution, Ohio does not recognize marriage between those of the same gender. Individuals who entered into a same-sex marriage in another jurisdiction may not use the filing status of “married filing jointly” or “married filing separately” when filing Form IT 1040.

What states allow civil unions?

Five states allow for civil unions: Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Vermont and New Jersey. California, District of Columbia, Maine, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and Wisconsin allow for domestic partnerships while Hawaii allows for a similar relationship known as reciprocal beneficiaries.

What states can you marry the same sex?

Washington state, Maine, and Maryland legalize same-sex marriage by popular vote. 2013 – Rhode Island, Delaware, Minnesota, New Jersey, Hawaii, Illinois, and New Mexico legalize same-sex marriage. The U.S. Supreme Court finds Section 3 of DOMA unconstitutional.

How many states is it legal to marry the same sex?

50 states2015 – The U.S. Supreme Court makes same-sex marriages legal in all 50 states in Obergefell v. Hodges.