Which states allow civil unions?

Which states allow civil unions?

Five states allow for civil unions: Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Vermont and New Jersey. California, District of Columbia, Maine, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and Wisconsin allow for domestic partnerships while Hawaii allows for a similar relationship known as reciprocal beneficiaries.

How many countries recognize same sex unions?

To date, only 29 out of the 195 countries in the world have legalized same-sex marriage. While many same-sex couples have no choice but to wait for legalization – some are together for decades before they are finally able to marry – in many countries, people who can choose to get married are doing so later in life.

Can you still get a civil union?

A civil union is a legal relationship between two people that provides legal protections to the couple. Since the Court's ruling, some states have either stopped providing for civil unions or have automatically converted existing civil unions to marriages. But it's still offered in a few states.

What was the first state to allow same sex civil unions?

Vermont26 April: Governor Howard Dean from the U.S. state of Vermont signs a civil unions bill into law after the state's Supreme Court ruled that same-sex couples were entitled to the same rights as opposite sex couples, thus making Vermont the first state in the U.S. to give full marriage rights to same-sex couples.