Why do parents get in trouble for truancy?
If a school believes that a parent is not providing the support their child needs, the case may be referred to the local District Attorney for disciplinary intervention. In some cases, parents of a truant child may face criminal charges.
What happens to the parent of a truant child?
Penalties for Truants' Parents If they refuse to respond, the parents could be found guilty of an infraction (with fines ranging from $100 for a first violation to $500 for three or more violations). Instead of a fine, the court may order the parents placed in a counseling and education program. (Cal. Educ.
How many days of school can a child miss in Missouri?
A student shall be allowed a maximum of ten (10) unexcused absences from any class during a semester. Students who accumulate in excess of ten (10) days in any class are subject to loss of credit for that class.
What are the truancy laws in Virginia?
Virginia compulsory education laws require children between five and 18 to attend school, while non-compliance is charged as a Class 3 misdemeanor. Children between six and 16 who are not at school during a normal school day — provided they are not at home with an illness or otherwise excused — are considered truant.