Can I file for divorce online in Washington state?
Washington Divorce Online allows you to complete your official Washington State Petition for Dissolution (Divorce) of Marriage online. You may then print and file your divorce petition with the court. In most cases you can choose to complete your divorce without a court appearance.
Can you get a divorce without a lawyer in Washington State?
Filing without an attorney Courts in Washington don’t require any divorcing spouse to hire an attorney. However, if you plan to file for divorce without the help of an attorney, the judge will expect you to file the right forms in the correct location.
How much does a divorce cost in WA?
|FORM||FEES FROM 1 JULY 2020|
|Application for Consent Orders (Form 11)||$170|
|Application for Divorce (Form 3)||$930 Reduced Fee $310|
|Initiating Application (Form 1) Parenting OR Financial orders||Final orders only $360 Final AND interim orders $485|
What are grounds for divorce in Washington State?
Washington State is a “no fault” state, meaning the only legal grounds for divorce is the “irretrievable breakdown” of the marriage. Anyone seeking a divorce in the state will be granted one as long as they were legally married, meet the state residency requirements, and correctly follow the dissolution procedure.
Is irreconcilable differences grounds for a divorce?
When a couple files for divorce on the grounds of irreconcilable differences, they are filing for a no-fault divorce. This means that neither spouse seeks to prove a wrongdoing that caused the end of the marriage. Many states allow for irreconcilable differences as legal grounds for divorce.
Is WA an alimony state?
Alimony in Medium-Term Marriages (5–25 years) As a general rule of thumb, courts in Washington State award one year of alimony for every three or four years of marriage. There is no statute or case law explicitly stating this formula, but it is an oft mentioned rule and generally what courts can be expected to do.