How do I file for child support in Nebraska?

How do I file for child support in Nebraska?

If you have any questions, please call the Nebraska Child Support Customer Service Call Center at Option #2. Once you have submitted your application, a PDF document of your application for Child Support Enforcement Services will be displayed.

Is Nebraska a mom State?

filing for divorce online

Nebraska statutes make it clear that there is no presumption favoring either the mother or the father. Nebraska has abolished, as have many other states, the maternal preference, which was a presumption that the mother would be most capable of caring for a child during its earliest childhood years.

Is Nebraska a 50/50 custody State?

Joint Physical Custody Custody laws in Nebraska do not favor one parent over the other due to sex. So, without extenuating circumstances, they try to award 50/50 joint custody when possible. Schedules can vary based on the parents’ schedules and child’s needs.

Is child support mandatory in Nebraska?

In Nebraska, parents have an equal duty to support their children financially and otherwise. The parent with less parenting time (called the non-custodial parent) usually makes the payments, but a court could order either parent to pay child support. Typically, parents must pay child support until the child turns 19.

How much back child support is a felony in Nebraska?

If the child support is overdue for longer than two years or the amount unpaid is $10,000 or more, the crime is considered a felony, potentially resulting in up to two years in prison and fines.

Can a child choose which parent to live with in Nebraska?

filing for divorce online

There is no magic age that the child gets to decide which parent to live with. Nebraska statutes instruct the trial court to consider a child’s preference as long as the child is of an age of comprehension and the child’s wishes and desires are based on sound reasoning.

How long does child support last in Nebraska?

19 years

Can child support debt be forgiven?

Child support back pay cannot be totally forgiven or waived, but there are a few situations that can help you handle it. Double-check the amount the court states you are in arrears. Back pay does accrue interest but, in some cases, you may not have to pay all of it. You can request a manageable payment schedule.

What happens if you don’t pay child support in Nebraska?

For example, if a person has not paid the child support, health-care expenses or child-care expenses as ordered, the judge can hold the person in contempt, sentence the person to jail, and then give the person a chance to stay out of jail and obey the order by making regular payments to bring the payments current.

How do I get my child support lowered in Nebraska?

How to lower your child support. Generally, an action to lower child support is brought by filing a Complaint to Modify. In this Complaint, the party asks for the child support to be lowered. The Complaint must be served on the other party in order for the action to go forward.

Does my partners income affect child support?

1. How does the income of my partner affect the amount of child support I pay or receive? The income of your partner or spouse does not affect child support. It’s based on the incomes of the 2 parents only.

Is Nebraska a no fault state for divorce?

Nebraska’s no-fault divorce law, approved in 1972, allows judges to dissolve a marriage if both spouses declare that the marriage is “irretrievably broken,” or if one spouse makes that statement and the other doesn’t deny it.

How long does it take to get divorce in Nebraska?

60 days