Where can I get a copy of my divorce decree in Rhode Island?

Where can I get a copy of my divorce decree in Rhode Island?

How Do I Find Divorce Records in Rhode Island? Rhode Island divorce records can be obtained by querying the office of the Clerk of Family Court in the judicial district where the divorce was granted.

How do I look up court cases in Rhode Island?

filing for divorce online

The Rhode Island Judiciary Public Portal (Public Portal) is the point of entry for electronic access to case information from the Rhode Island Judiciary’s (Judiciary) database whether at the courthouse or remotely.

How much is a divorce in Rhode Island?

If a case is truly uncontested, with no children and no assets to divide, a divorce will cost around $600.00 plus costs ( filing fee to clerk of $120.00 and cost to have other spouse served which is usually about $40).

How long does it take to get divorce in Rhode Island?

75 days

Is adultery a crime in Rhode Island?

Adultery is still a criminal offense in Rhode Island, subject to a $500 fine, although it’s rarely prosecuted. Rhode Island courts can consider any misconduct by either spouse, including infidelity, when deciding whether or not to award alimony in a divorce.

Does it matter who files for divorce first in RI?

filing for divorce online

Filing first is the safest way to ensure that your spouse cannot play games with your assets. Typically, the state of jurisdiction for the divorce proceedings is the state where the filing of the divorce complaint occurs. State laws vary when it comes to community property, alimony, child custody, and visitation.

Is Rhode Island a 50/50 divorce state?

Rhode Island is a “no fault state.” Is property divided 50 /50 in a divorce? Property, assets and debts are not divided 50/50 in all divorces in Rhode Island. The vast majority of divorces in Rhode Island result in an equal split of the marital assets.

How much does it costs to get divorced?

The filing fee for a divorce application (lodged with the Federal Circuit Court) is $910 (as at ). If you hold a concession card or you cannot afford to pay the fee without financial hardship, you can apply for the fee to be reduced to $305 (as at ).