Does it matter who files for divorce first in Arizona?

Does it matter who files for divorce first in Arizona?

In Arizona, there are no legal consequences or advantages for who is listed as the “Petitioner” and who is listed as “Respondent.” If you file for the divorce, you will be known as the Petitioner.

How long do you have to live in Arizona to file for divorce?

filing for divorce online

90 days

Is Arizona a 50 50 state in a divorce?

§ 25-318 (2020) states that all assets and debts incurred by a couple during marriage equally belong to both spouses. Unlike some 50-50 states, Arizona does not require marital property to be divided equally in a divorce. Division, however, has to be fair and generally be approximately equal.

How much does divorce cost in AZ?

On average, an Arizona divorce costs about $20,000. The average cost of divorce in Arizona without a Lawyer is $577. The average cost of divorce in Arizona with a Lawyer is $20,000. However, the average cost of divorce in Arizona can range from $15,000 to $100,000 per side when including expert witness fees.

What is Arizona law for divorce?

Under Arizona’s community property laws, all assets and debts a couple acquires during marriage belong equally to both spouses. Unlike some community property states, Arizona does not require the division of marital property in divorce to be exactly equal, but it must be fair and will usually be approximately equal.

How do I get a divorce in Arizona without a lawyer?

filing for divorce online

In order to start the divorce process without a lawyer, you’ll need to complete some forms. The Arizona Judicial Branch publishes divorce forms online. Although these are standard Arizona forms, your county may have additional requirements. It’s important to check with your local court clerk before filing.

How much is a divorce lawyer in AZ?

Cost Of A Divorce Attorney In AZ The survey says that an Arizona divorce lawyer on average charges $250 per hour. This, combined with the rates of paralegals and other law firm services, will total $10,300 in a typical Arizona divorce. Some attorneys charge more or less than this average.

Is adultery against the law in Arizona?

Adultery Is A Crime In Arizona Adultery is a class 3 misdemeanor in Arizona, which means it may lead to jail time and other criminal penalties. However, this law can only be enforced if the non-adulterous spouse has formally filed a complaint.

What is considered cheating in a divorce?

In order to qualify as “adultery,” there must be an actual, physical sexual relationship between one of the spouses and a third party to the marriage. Finally, it is the spouse who wants to bring the divorce action who must bring forward the convincing evidence that adultery actually took place.