What are the child support laws in Alabama?
The total child-support obligation shall be divided between the parents in proportion to their adjusted gross incomes. The obligation of each parent is computed by multiplying the total child-support obligation by each parent’s percentage share of their combined adjusted gross income.
How is child support paid in Alabama?
Child support payments may be made directly from one parent to the other or through income withholding. All child support payments made through income withholding are processed through the Alabama Child Support Payment Center.
How long is child support paid in Alabama?
Under Alabama law, child support payments usually end when the child reaches the age of 19 or when he or she graduates from high school, or becomes emancipated, whichever happens later. However, if the child attends college and is not working, the noncustodial parent still has an obligation pay support.
How long does it take to get child support in Alabama?
Within 60 days of filing, the case must be set for hearing. Within 12 months of notifying the non-custodial parent, DHR must have most cases completed. If a parent defaults on a child support order, DHR must take enforcement action within 30 to 60 days.
Does having another child affect child support in Alabama?
In Alabama, parents can’t lower their existing child support obligations by having new children. Courts will, however, take into account existing child support awards when determining a parent’s available income to pay child support for new children.