Do divorced parents have to pay for college in Indiana?
Married parents are not legally obligated to pay for their children’s college education. However, Indiana family law requires that college costs be addressed in divorce decrees or in modifications to existing decrees. Generally, this means that the child support obligation terminates when the child turns nineteen.
Does child support end when child goes to college?
In most states, child support ends when the child reaches age 18, goes off to college, dies, or gets married. Some states, however, allow child support to continue beyond the age of 18 in certain circumstances, such as if the child is still living at home and attending high school, or if the child has special needs.
How do I extend my child support after 18?
You can apply to extend your child support assessment, agreement or make a new agreement by:using your Child Support online account through myGov.completing the Child over 18 years of age in full time secondary education form.
Does child support automatically stop at 21 in NY?
In New York State, a child is entitled to be supported by his or her parents until the age of 21. However, if the child is under 21 years of age, and is married, or self-supporting, or in the military, the child is considered to be “emancipated” and the parents’ support obligation ends.
Can I go after my ex husband’s new wife for child support in New York?
A question that often comes up in New York divorce cases is whether the income of a remarried parent’s new spouse can be used when calculating child support payments. The general rule under New York law is that a step-parent has no obligation to support their step-children. Later, Parent B remarries.
Do you have to pay child support after 18 in NY?
Although many states have child support terminating by law at age 18, that is not the case in New York. Although some states have a younger age of emancipation, in New York, unless there is an signed agreement that states otherwise, child support must be paid until the child reaches the age of 2012
What is the max child support in NY?
New York State laws protect low-income noncustodial parents: If the noncustodial parent’s income is below the Federal Poverty Level ($12,140 for 2018), the child support order may be established at $25 per month and the amount of arrears will be capped at $500.
What is the average child support payment in NY?
Use the correct percentage of total income CSSA says should be devoted to child support: 17% for one child. 25% for two children. 29% for three children.
At what age can a child decide which parent to live with in NY?
18 years old
Does NYS Child Support automatically end?
In New York, orders requiring the payment of child support typically terminate at age 21, unless the parties have specifically agreed, in a written stipulation, that child support would continue beyond age 2019