How much does it cost to file for divorce in AR?
How Much Does it Cost to File for Divorce in Arkansas? You’ll need to pay a filing fee of approximately $165 when you file a petition for divorce in Arkansas, although fees may vary from county to county. You should check with your local court for the most up-to-date information.
How long do you have to be separated in Arkansas to get a divorce?
To file for a divorce in Arkansas you must have lived in Arkansas for 60 days before filing and have grounds for divorce. The the most commonly used grounds for divorce are “general indignities” and “separation for 18 months.” The grounds must have happened within the last five years.
Can you get a divorce in Arkansas without a lawyer?
Requirements for an Uncontested Divorce in Arkansas. To file for an uncontested divorce in Arkansas, at least one spouse must have lived in the state for at least 60 days. Arkansas allows no-fault divorce, which courts define as living separately for 18 months voluntarily.
Is adultery a felony in Arkansas?
Under Arkansas law, a divorcing couple must choose at least one of the following grounds for divorce: Adultery. Impotence. A spouse’s felony conviction or conviction of a serious crime.
What does indignities mean in a divorce?
An indignity is conduct which renders the other spouse’s condition intolerable and life burdensome. According to one case, “Indignities may consist of: unmerited reproach.
What does General indignities mean in a divorce?
In the context of divorce law, the phrase “general indignities” simply means that the other spouse treated the party seeking the divorce in such a way that it made his or her life intolerable.30 de abr. de 2019
How does adultery affect divorce in Arkansas?
The Arkansas Code specifically provides that adultery is a “grounds,” or basis, for divorce. This applies to regular civil marriages as well as “covenant marriages” (which are identical to other civil marriages except that the couple has undergone special premarital counseling).
Is irreconcilable differences grounds for divorce in Arkansas?
“Irreconcilable differences” is a common reason for divorces in no-fault states. Arkansas is one of very few states that require proof that a spouse is at fault for the end of the marriage. All other divorce filings must state a fault, such as: Intolerable behavior (referred to as general indignities)9 de jan. de 2018
Where do I file for divorce in Arkansas?
Where to File. If you are an Arkansas resident, you will file your divorce in the Chancery Court of the county where you live. If your spouse is a resident of Arkansas but you are not, you will file in the county where your spouse lives. You begin the procedure by filing a Complaint for Divorce.23 de ago. de 2017
Does it matter who files for divorce first in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, a petition must first be filed with the court in order to begin divorce proceedings. If the matter is uncontested, you and your spouse can reach a documented divorce agreement, where you and a witness of your choosing will appear in court to have the matter finalized.20 de jun. de 2016