Is Connecticut a community or marital property state?

Is Connecticut a community or marital property state?

A community property state is a state that has laws presuming that property of married couples is to be equally divided upon dissolution of marriage, with few exceptions. Connecticut is not a community property state.

Which states do not have community property?

Most states are not and are considered equitable distribution states where property is distributed fairly, but not necessarily equally. There are nine community property states: Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin.

What are the marital property states?

The states having community property are Louisiana, Arizona, California, Texas, Washington, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, and Wisconsin. Community property states follow the rule that all assets acquired during the marriage are considered "community property."

What property is considered to be separately owned property in a community property state?

In community property states, the following is separate property: gifts given to one spouse. property either spouse owned before the marriage and kept separate during the marriage, and. inheritances.