Do you have to be legally separated to get a divorce in Ohio?

Do you have to be legally separated to get a divorce in Ohio?

Unlike many other states, Ohio has a law that specifically provides for a court action to obtain a legal separation. This is similar to filing a complaint (petition) for divorce, and you need to have appropriate grounds (reasons). You don’t have to be living separate and apart to initiate the lawsuit.

How much does it cost to get legally separated in Ohio?

Separation filing fees will vary depending on what county you are filing in. For example, in Summit County, the filing fee ranges from $310 to $360. If you cannot afford the filing fee, you may be able to apply for a fee waiver.

Can you date while separated in Ohio?

While there is no law against dating during divorce proceedings, there are both legal and emotional reasons why you should wait until your divorce is final.

Do both parties have to agree on a legal separation?

The same is true for separations in Canada. You and your spouse are not required to have a separation agreement drafted, and neither of you are required to sign one. While these agreements may not be mandatory, they are strongly recommended.

How long does the average divorce take in Ohio?

30 to 90 days