What is a Chancery Court?

What is a Chancery Court?

Chancery Courts have jurisdiction over disputes in matters involving equity; domestic matters including adoptions, custody disputes and divorces; guardianships; sanity hearings; wills; and challenges to constitutionality of state laws. Land records are filed in Chancery Court.

What is the difference between circuit and chancery court?

In Chancery Court, you do not have the right to a jury trial and your claim will be reviewed by a judge. Criminal matters are also filed in Circuit Court because you do not have a right to a jury trial in Chancery Court.

What is the Queen’s Bench Division?

The Queen’s Bench Division (QBD) is one of the three Divisions of the High Court, together with the Chancery Division and Family Division. It is the biggest of the three High Court Divisions, consisting at present of 71 judges, and has the most varied jurisdiction.

What does QB stand for in law?

Queen’s Bench

What does the family division do?

As well as the President – who is a member of the Court of Appeal – the Family Division consists of 19 High Court Judges. It deals with: Divorce, including disputes over children, property or money; Adoption, wardship and other matters involving children; and.